Rodel - Isle of Harris - Western Isles - Outer Hebrides
The village of Rodel is located on the island of Harris.The most fascinating sight in Rodel, is the St Clements Church. At one time the main town of Harris was Rodel - the ferry for Skye used to depart from Rodel - however in more recent times it is Tarbert that is the main town and port. The Rodel harbour is a peaceful tranquil harbour . Many divers view Rodel as a perfect diving destination in Scotland. The scenic road between Tarbert and Rodel is known as the Golden Road.
Click the pictures below for larger images
Captain Alexander Macleod and Rodel Hotel
The golden road is a single way road that can either be walked or driven, and runs along the coast. The road was constructed in 1897 and derived its name for the high costs incurred during its construction. Harris once belonged to Norman MacLeod of Dunvegan, but he was forced to sell the estate in 1772. The estate was purchased by by Captain Alexander MacLeod. He immediately started construction of his new home, looking out over the Rodel Harbour, and the building was completed in 1781. Today, this elegant and magnificent home has been transformed into the Rodel Hotel, with its original walls untouched, and the interior being upgraded to a high standard of luxury